Register  | Login
  Search
Buckmasters Forums
Help on my food plot please
Last Post 18 Sep 2007 11:26 PM by Shawn. 4 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
cnails
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
18 Sep 2007 02:38 AM  

I am new to planting plots for deer and I need some advice. I live in NE Alabama and have a plot area of around 3/4 acre for an 18 acre tract of land. I have most of my soil at the 6.5 range in ph.

I have the option of planting either crimson or white (dyno?) clover. I was going to plant crimson but have heard that the white is better because it will come back over and over. Which do you think is best? I am planting winter wheat also.

My plot has been full of ironweed and some other forms of weed, I have physically cleared much of the plot, and can see the ground easily. Can I till up the ground without clearing all the weeds? I have very little options as far as equiptment, but can have the use of a tractor/tiller for a day. Can I just till the ground, and then plant?

Also, after planting, should I drag the field with a fence on my 4wheeler, or just pack it in by riding over the plot?

I know I sound kind of ignorant to this, but it is my first attempt at a food plot and I am prone to do stupid things, so I thought I would ask first. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

CKNails

tubby
Buckmaster
Buckmaster

--
18 Sep 2007 03:17 AM  
I live in West Alabama and we start out bush hogging our plots then tillling them up to cut as much of the grass and weeds as possible.We usually plant a deer mix purchased at our local co-op,adding some rye grass,extra clover and rape.I think the clover is the white variety.
Good luck on your food plot and the up comming season.
Tubby
The God of My Rock;He Is My Sheild;And The Horn Of My Salvation 2 Samuuel,Ch 22
ks_hunter
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
18 Sep 2007 04:06 AM