Register  | Login
  Search
TOP STORIES

Current Articles | Search | Syndication


Vermont Antlerless Deer Application Deadline is Aug. 22

From Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department

-- The deadline to apply for a Vermont antlerless deer hunting permit is Friday, Aug. 22. Applications must be either delivered to the Waterbury Fish & Wildlife office by 4:30 p.m. that day or postmarked no later than Aug. 22. 

Vermont's antlerless deer hunting lottery applications for the muzzleloader season are available on the Fish & Wildlife Department's website (vtfishandwildlife.com) and at license agents statewide. On the website, go to "Buy Your License" and select "Online Antlerless Lottery Application." 

The permits are only for antlerless deer, which is defined as deer without antlers or with antlers less than three inches long. 

Deer hunting rules and antlerless permit numbers and wildlife management units (WMUs) open to antlerless hunting were finalized at a Vermont Fish & Wildlife Board meeting held Aug. 20.
 
A hunter who wins an antlerless deer permit in the lottery may take one antlerless deer by muzzleloader in the designated WMU during the Dec. 6-14, 2008 muzzleloader season. 

The wildlife management units (WMUs) with muzzleloader antlerless permits this year are A, B, F1, F2, H1, H2, J1, J2, K1, K2, M2, N, O2, and Q.  The 22,050 muzzleloader antlerless permits to be issued will help slow the growth of the deer population in these units and are expected to net a harvest of about 4,300 deer.

Only about 20 percent of hunters with antlerless permits actually take deer, and 80 percent of those are adult females.   

Applications cost $10 for residents and $25 for nonresidents. A person may submit only one application.

The regulations passed during the Board's Aug. 20 meeting supersede past regulations and the information in the 2008 Guide to Hunting, Fishing and Trapping Laws. 

Changes include:
- No hunter may take more than three deer in a calendar year in any combination of seasons (archery, youth weekend, November rifle or December muzzleloader).

- No more than two deer may be taken during archery season. Only one legal buck may be taken during archery season anywhere in the state. In WMUs open to the taking of antlerless deer, both deer may be antlerless deer. All WMUs are open to the taking of antlerless deer during archery season except D2 and E.

- The regulations are available on Fish & Wildlife's website, www.vtfishandwildlife.com under Law Enforcement. Click on Rules and Proposed Rules.

Comments
Retweet
Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! Join Buckmasters Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!