Register  | Login

Current Articles | Search | Syndication

Utah splits 5 regions into 30 deer hunting units for 2012

From the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources

-- Utah has split its five general season regions into 30 smaller areas known as hunting units beginning with the 2012 season.

The decision to split the regions into 30 smaller units was made June 9 by the Utah Wildlife Board.

Boundaries for the 30 hunting units mirror the boundaries for management areas the Division of Wildlife Resources set up decades ago. The DWR split the state into management areas to help biologists gather biological data about the wildlife in each area.

"These unit boundaries were established a long time ago to encompass deer populations in the state," says Anis Aoude, big game coordinator. "The units have clear, definable boundaries. The boundaries should be easy for hunters to follow."

Maps that show the boundaries for each of the 30 units are available online at

The Wildlife Board will determine the number of permits for each unit in spring 2012.

Pay Your Bill Online Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! LinkedIn Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!