Register  | Login
  Search
TOP STORIES

Current Articles | Search | Syndication


Tennessee's Deer Season to Close After Youth Hunt Jan. 12-13

From Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

-- Tennessee's 2007-08 deer hunting seasons will end in all Units with the Young Sportsman Deer Hunt that will be held on January 12-13, 2008, according to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA). 

The bag limit for this special hunt is one antlered and two antlerless deer in Units A and L. In Unit B the bag limit is one deer of either-sex. 

Remember that antlered deer taken during the Young Sportsman Hunt count toward the statewide antlered deer bag limit.  If a youth in Unit A or Unit L has already taken three antlered deer this year, they would only be allowed two antlerless deer on this hunt. A youth in Unit B that has already taken two antlered deer in Unit B could only take one antlerless deer.

Only youths, ages 6 through 16 (as long as they have not reached their 17th birthday), may participate, regardless of whether they possess a Junior or Adult license. Each youth must be accompanied by a non-hunting adult, 21 years or older, who does not need a license but must also wear 500-square inches of fluorescent orange. 

Youth hunters ages 10-16 need a hunter education card along with the appropriate license where applicable. Those, ages 6-9, are not required to possess a hunter education card or license (these youths must have their Social Security Number to check out a deer).

For those youth hunters, ages 10 and older, who have not taken the hunter education course, the new Apprentice License is now available.

The new Apprentice License will exempt a hunter, age 10 or older who falls within the hunter education requirement, from having to complete the mandatory hunter Education Course for the current license year.

The Apprentice License (Type 012) may be purchased for $11 at any hunting and fishing license agent. The license is valid from the date of purchase through the last day of February. This license may only be purchased once in the lifetime of the hunter.

While hunting, the apprentice hunter must be accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years of age, who is hunter education certified or otherwise exempt from the law. In addition to the apprentice license, the hunter must have other applicable licenses and permits.
For more information about this special hunt, refer to the 2007 Tennessee Hunting and Trapping Guide.

Comments
Retweet
Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! Join Buckmasters Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!