From the Georgia Department of Natural Resources
-- Hunter education courses in Georgia are offered three ways—by classroom, CD-Rom or online.
Completion of a hunter education course is required for those born on or after January 1, 1961, who purchase a season hunting license. The only exception is for those who purchase an apprentice license - a new option under the recently restructured license system. This license offers novice hunters (16 years of age and older) an opportunity to hunt for three days without completing a hunter education course.
“The online hunter education course is continuing to grow in popularity with Georgia hunters, said Lt. Col. Jeff Weaver, assistant Chief of Wildlife Resources Division’s Law Enforcement Section. “It is a convenient way to fulfill hunter safety requirements without having to attend the traditional classroom course.”
The online course, found at www.gohuntgeorgia.com, satisfies eight of ten required hours. Hunters still must attend a two-hour (minimum) review/test course, where passing students receive hunter education certificates.
Completion of a hunter education course is required for any person born on or after Jan. 1, 1961, who purchases a season hunting license in Georgia, is at least 12 years old and hunts without adult supervision and hunts big game (deer, turkey, bear) on a wildlife management area.
The only exceptions include any person who purchases a short-term hunting license, such as the new apprentice license or the 3-day hunting and fishing combo license (as opposed to a season license), hunts on his or her own land or that of his or her parents or legal guardians.
The hunter education course also is available by CD-Rom or in a traditional classroom setting. For more information, visit www.gohuntgeorgia.com or call (770) 761-3010.