From Pennsylvania Game Commission
-- With small game seasons underway and big game seasons around the corner, more basic Hunter-Trapper Education (HTE) courses are scheduled for October and November so all new hunters can complete this mandatory course to be eligible to participate in the upcoming fall hunting seasons.
Hunters who have not yet passed a basic Hunter-Trapper Education course are reminded that becoming certified through a basic course is mandatory for all first-time license buyers, regardless of age.
To meet this need, additional courses have been scheduled throughout the state, and are filling up fast. Hunters who wish to be eligible now are advised to sign up for a class. After the courses are completed in November, the agency won't begin a new slate of Hunter-Trapper Education classes until early in 2012.
There is no fee for the basic HTE course. Classes are taught by volunteer instructors, and a number of organizations host HTE classes throughout the state. Registration is required; online registration is available for all courses.
Most HTE classes last at least 10 hours over two or more days, and participants must attend all instruction before taking the test at the end of the course. Youngsters must be at least 11 years old to receive HTE certification.
Successful completion of a basic Pennsylvania HTE class, or another state's equivalent course, is required by state law to obtain a first-time hunting or furtaker license, regardless of age.
Registrations also are being accepted for the independent-study version of the basic HTE program, available for those 11 years of age or older. The course requires students to attend a two to three-hour class to be tested and certified. Prior to the classroom test, however, students must study the entire course content on their own, which takes about eight to 10 hours to complete.
Study guides are available online from the registration page or, to request a print version of "Today's Hunter & Trapper in Pennsylvania," call the Hunter-Trapper Education Division at (717)787-7015 to request a study guide be mailed to you. There is a $1.59 postage fee for mailed study guides.