Register  | Login

Current Articles | Search | Syndication

New rule changes extend urban deer zone season to Jan. 31

From Indiana Department of Natural Resources

-- The new deer rule changes adopted by the Natural Resources Commission are now in effect. This extends the 2011 Urban Deer Zone season until Jan. 31, 2012.

Previously, the urban deer zone ended the first Sunday in January.

A new urban deer zone license is required and replaces the old requirements of needing an extra archery license, bonus antlerless or regular archery license. The resident urban deer zone license is $24, and the nonresident urban deer zone license is $150. Resident youth hunt/trap, lifetime comprehensive hunting, or lifetime comprehensive hunting and fishing license or those exempt from needing a license, do not need to purchase urban deer zone licenses.

Crossbows can now be used during the urban deer zone season.

The urban deer zone in Lake and Porter counties now includes the entire county.

Hunters with an urban deer zone license must harvest at least one antlerless deer before harvesting an antlered deer with an urban deer zone license. The earn-a-buck program only applies to the urban deer zone season.

The bag limit for the urban deer zone remains the same at 4 antlerless deer, one per license or with the new earn-a-buck, 3 antlerless deer and 1 antlered deer, one per license. Urban deer zones were established to provide hunters opportunities to harvest deer in specified areas in addition to regular bag limits.

Urban deer zones are for archery and crossbow hunting only. This provision does not override local ordinances restricting bow and arrow or crossbow use.

What does this mean for the remainder of the 2011 Urban Deer Zone Season?

Urban Deer Zones are Lake County, Porter County, Vanderburgh County, Fort Wayne ñ the portion of Allen County within the bounds of Interstate 69 and Indiana 469; Indianapolis ñ all of Marion County, Hendricks County east of Indiana 267; southeast portion of Boone County bounded by Indiana 267, Interstate 65, Indiana 32; and the portion of Hamilton County south of Indiana 32; Lafayette ñ the portion of Tippecanoe County north of Indiana 28;  Michigan City ñ the portion of LaPorte County north of Interstate 94; and Warsaw ñ the portion of Kosciusko County within the corporate limits of Warsaw.

All other deer rule changes that became effective Jan. 1 can be found at

Pay Your Bill Online Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! LinkedIn Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!