From the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department
-- The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department is now offering a basic Hunter Education course online. The course which has a $15 fee, entails online study and testing, plus a written exam and a mandatory field day. Participants must be at least 15 years old to take the online course.
The course covers all the important lessons of hunter education such as firearm safety, hunter responsibility and ethical hunting practices. The online course replaces the former home study option for Hunter Education and is an alternative to traditional classroom hunter ed courses taught by trained volunteer instructors. Those courses are still offered across the state and are listed at http://www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed_schedule.htm).
To get started, visit http://www.huntnh.com/hunting/hunter_ed.htm to access study materials and complete the online part of the course.
By state law, anyone planning to buy a hunting license in N.H. must complete a Fish and Game hunter education course (or show proof of a previously issued license).
Hunter education is made possible by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act. Excise taxes are collected from the sales of firearms, ammunition and archery equipment. These funds are distributed to state agencies to conduct research, manage wildlife populations, protect habitat and conduct hunter education programs.