Register  | Login
  Search
TOP STORIES
Feature

Current Articles | Search | Syndication


Kentucky deer herd history on Kentucky Afield Sept. 4-5

From the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources

-- Kentucky ranks among the top hunting destinations in the nation for white-tailed deer. How the state achieved that status - nearly 100 years in the making - is revealed on the Kentucky Afield television program, Sept. 4 and 5.

In 1916, Kentucky was home to fewer than 1,000 deer - a factor leading to a 40-year ban on deer hunting. On Sept. 4 and 5,  experts including David Yancy, wildlife biologist and unofficial deer historian for the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, will look into the science and practicality of deer management. Although slow in coming, all 120 Kentucky counties now share in the success story.

Kentucky Afield is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously running outdoor television show in the nation. The program airs at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central Saturdays, and repeats at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central Sundays on KET 1. To see the latest news about Kentucky Afield television and view favorite show segments from the past, sign up for the electronic newsletter online at http://fw.ky.gov/kyafieldtvnewsletter.asp.

Comments
Retweet
Pay Your Bill Online Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! LinkedIn Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!