Register  | Login

Current Articles | Search | Syndication

Good outlook for Oklahoma turkey season April 6 - May 6

From the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation

-- Oklahoma's spring turkey season runs from April 6 through May 6 and is open to shotgun and archery equipment.

Seasons on public land may vary from statewide season dates. For regulations, specific firearms and archery requirements, a state map showing individual county bag limits and full details on public lands season dates, consult the current Oklahoma Hunting Guide at

Huntable populations of turkeys exist in all 77 counties. Every county in Oklahoma has either a one- or two-tom season limit, and an eight-county region in southeast Oklahoma has a combined two-tom season limit. However, persistent hunters can harvest up to their season limit of three tom turkeys in one day, but individual county limits still apply.

No more than one tom may be taken in any county with a one-tom limit and no more than two toms may be taken from any county with a two-tom limit. No more than two toms may be taken from Atoka, Choctaw, Coal, Latimer, LeFlore, McCurtain, Pittsburg and Pushmataha counties combined.
To hunt turkeys, sportsmen need an appropriate state hunting license as well as a turkey license, unless exempt. Upon harvesting a turkey, all annual license holders are required to complete the Record of Game section on the license form, and all hunters, even lifetime license holders, must attach their name, hunting license number, and date and time of harvest to their turkey as soon as it is harvested.

Only toms, or bearded turkeys, may be taken during the spring season, and all turkeys taken east of I-35 must be checked at the nearest open hunter check station, with an authorized Wildlife Department employee or online at

Pay Your Bill Online Google+ Buckmasters on Pinterest Follow Us On Instagram! LinkedIn Buckmasters on YouTube Follow Us On Twitter Buckmasters on Facebook!