Register  | Login
  Search

Buckmasters Forums

The rut
Last Post 10 Dec 2009 06:04 AM by chadschmidt. 7 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Big Buck Down
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
30 Oct 2007 09:22 PM  
Do you think that it would be a good idea to use a decoy, a grunt call and to rattle during the rut. Were I hunt at I have a pond, a thicket were i know they are bedding at and they are coming straight out of a place were nobody can hunt at. I've seen on a lot of hunting movies that people like using decoys and blind calling. I was just wanting to know if you all think that might work because i have been chasing a giant for 2 years now and i cant seem to get him out of the thicket because i hunt in the open were the pond is and he wont come out till dark.
huntininmissouri
6 Point
6 Point

--
01 Nov 2007 04:07 AM  
give it a try!just be safe using a decoy and carrying it in and out
Howard
6 Point
6 Point

--
03 Nov 2007 12:07 AM  
I would check with your state's game laws to see if it's legal to use decoys. If that area you're talking about is private land(the pond) make a food plot to get hime eating out of it. Again, check your laws and see if feeders are legal to draw him out.

If he's a monster buck then a rattle bag and/or grunt just might work. During the rut you may also want to use a doe bleat or fawn bleat to draw in a doe that might have the buck on her trail.

Good luck, and be safe.
Big Buck Down
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
03 Nov 2007 01:42 AM  

What is the best scents for the rut that you have used I heard about that new product. She stands he etempts to breed and we bottle it. Standing something. It comes in like a coke bottle type deal. It's $30.

kerry larson
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
02 Nov 2008 04:18 PM