Register  | Login
  Search
Buckmasters Forums
First Hunt
Last Post 13 Nov 2010 04:40 PM by coffeeaholic. 5 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
arfdr18
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
20 Sep 2009 01:54 PM  

I am new to hunting. I am going to try to get a deer this year. Can any of you give me some tips on what I need to buy? I was on Bass Pro’s web site looking for calls and scents things like that and it just like anything else, one product is better that there competitors. Now I’m lost don’t know what to buy. I’m good on the tree stand and rifle. I’m pretty sure that I’m in a good spot, there are signs that they are bedding in front of my stand and there are three or four trails that also cross my stand. If you would tell me what kind of call I should get and what kind of scent. I’m not picky on what kind of deer I get, if this helps.

Thanks for your help,

Nathan

droptranch
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
14 Oct 2009 07:28 PM  

If you are bow hntin your stand is good, but usually not good idea to put stand right on trail or rubs.  You want to set your stand close by but not right on trails.  I used acorn rage spray on an area when I didn't have corn in area (west texas) and it brought them in.  Also wilgame innovations has a deoderant looking stick you rub on trees etc.  I think itscalled Buck Calm, we are going to try that, heard good things about it.  Get you a trail camera at walmart to see what ya got out there. good luck, its an obsession.

hunt5months
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
16 Oct 2009 04:07 AM  
I pritty much only use 2 calls the mad buck grawl and the primos original can.As for scents i use code blue standing estrus.To bring deer into the area i use just plan old salt pour it on the ground[check state laws on hunting on it].I fill the freezer every year. I hope this helps i love helping out people that want to learn how to hunt.
Brea24
Button Buck
Button Buck

--
29 Oct 2009 05:58 PM