Register  | Login
  Search

Buckmasters Forums

Very dumb post here sorry
Last Post 09 Aug 2007 07:00 AM by r_rayjr. 8 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
RJF
6 Point
6 Point

--
08 Aug 2007 05:39 AM  
Well Im sorry for the dumb question but im just getting into bow hunting got my hoyt powertech set up with a tru glow 3 pin sight and a whisker bisket rest. MY question is I have three pins I havent moved them but does it go the bottom site 0- 30 yards one above it 40 yards and so forth? or do I have it backwards? im shooting groups of a pop can bottom right now but havent went more than 33 yards. Sorry for the stupidness of this post
Dakota Danny
6 Point
6 Point

--
08 Aug 2007 06:05 AM  
You can use your sight pins the way you want. The key is to set them up to work well for you. Most choose to set them up at 10 yard intervals. I have 5 pins, and I don't like to shoot further than 30 yards hunting, so I went with 10,20...up to 50.

Some will start 20 to 60 in my setup.

I don't know how flat your bow shoots, so you may want to do 20, 30, 40 or 10, 20, 30. Determine your max or comfort range by practice. We all have our own. The most disciplined hunter is the one willing to let an animal walk rather than risk injury.

When you establish your max distance, keep in mind that target practice and actual hunting are different stories. Moving animals, various weather, and their response are just some of the reasons you should have a shorter comfort zone than your practice distance. From what I remember reading, after 30 yards, the equation shifts to the whitetail. They are able to hear the sound, and jump the string (which in some cases is ducking under the arrow). For that reason, many of the best shots in the world really don't take shots further than 30 yards.

Good luck to you and a happy harvest.
newhunter
12 Point
12 Point

--
08 Aug 2007 07:09 AM