Hunting News

Antlerless deer license applications on sale July 15

Antlerless deer license applications on sale July 15

By Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Beginning July 15, antlerless deer license application period opens and will run through August 15.

Hunters may apply for one license in any open Deer Management Unit (DMU) statewide; a nonrefundable $5 fee is charged at the time of application.

Hunters may choose to apply for either one private-land or one public-land license or at any authorized license agent, DNR Customer Service Center or online at E-License.

Young hunters, ages 9 to 16, can purchase one junior antlerless deer license over the counter July 15 through August 15. No application is required. A 9-year-old must be 10 by Sept. 26 to purchase this license.

Leftover antlerless deer licenses not issued in the drawing will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis beginning Sept. 5, at 10 a.m. until license quotas are met.

Antlerless deer license quotas for each DMU can be found here.

Hunters should note DMU 333 has unlimited antlerless licenses that may be purchased without application beginning Sept. 5 at 10 a.m.

Drawing results and leftover license availability may be viewed beginning Aug. 28 by clicking here.

For additional information, the 2017 Antlerless Deer Digest is available online.

Hunters also are reminded that the Michigan Natural Resources Commission expanded the Core Chronic Wasting Disease Area to include 20 townships.

This area, which will continue to be referred to as DMU 333, now will consist of Danby and Portland townships in Ionia County; Lansing, Meridian, Williamstown, Delhi, Alaiedon and Wheatfield townships in Ingham County; DeWitt, Bath, Watertown, Eagle, Westphalia, Riley, Olive and Victor townships in Clinton County; Woodhull Township in Shiawassee County; and Roxand, Oneida and Delta townships in Eaton County.

An additional Core CWD Area (DMU 359) has been created to include Mecosta, Austin, Morton, Hinton, Aetna and Deerfield townships in Mecosta County and Cato, Winfield and Reynolds townships in Montcalm County. To learn more about chronic wasting disease, visit here.

Copyright 2018 by Buckmasters, Ltd.

Copyright 2017 by Buckmasters, Ltd